Jan 7, 2015
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

LVMH Prize: second edition has been launched

Jan 7, 2015

On January 6, LVMH opened the starting gates for applications for the second edition of its design award. Launched in 2014, the very first LVMH Prize was bestowed upon Thomas Tait. Who will succeed him? That is the challenge for new hopefuls, who have until February 8 for designers, or until May 3 for graduates of fashion schools, to get their applications in.

Spring/summer 15 silhouette by Thomas Tait, the first winner of the LVMH Prize | Photo: Pixelformula.

Indeed, while the prize will be awarded to a designer who has sold at least two collections, LVMH also distinguishes promising students who have completed their study cycles. 

While the main prize includes 300,000 euros, as well as coaching for a year by LVMH teams, three selected students will each receive 10,000 euros in financial aid as well as the opportunity to join the creative team of one of LVMH's brands for one year.

The jury, which will be responsible for choosing ten designers as finalists, will include nine of the group's artistic directors: Nicolas Ghesquière (Louis Vuitton), Marc Jacobs (Marc Jacobs), Karl Lagerfeld (Fendi), Humberto Leon and Carol Lim (Kenzo), Phoebe Philo (Celine), Raf Simons (Dior), Riccardo Tisci (Givenchy), plus this year JW Anderson (Loewe). Also at their side: one of the prize's founders, Delphine Arnault, as well as Jean-Paul Claverie (advisor to Bernard Arnault and head of corporate philanthropy for LVMH) and Pierre-Yves Roussel (CEO of LVMH Fashion Group). 

In addition to the recently launched prize, LVMH supports designers through several other older initiatives, including the ANDAM Fashion Awards, the Hyères International Festival of Fashion and Photography, the Central Saint Martins school in London, and the investment fund for young designers created by the French Ministry of Culture and Communication.

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.