Jul 20, 2015
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

Munsoo Kwon and J Koo will represent Asia for the International Woolmark Prize

Jul 20, 2015

Munsoo Kwon and J Koo on Monday were announced as the respective menswear and womenswear winners of the 2015/16 International Woolmark Prize Asia regional final at an awards event held at the Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund in Shanghai, China.

The International Woolmark Prize Asia winners and their models

Thom Browne, a first time judge, Lu Yan, Cyril Rahon, Michael Mok, Candy Lee and Melissa Grace were part of the judging panel who selected the winners.
“This is one of the most important moments of my life,” Kwon said as he accepted his award on stage, adding: “to receive this prize from a judging panel that consists of Thom Browne, the feeling is incredible.”

The two winners who were chosen from amongst twelve competitors were awarded AU$50,000, or 230,000RMB, plus the opportunity to represent Asia in the international competition. The menswear final will be held in Florence in January 2016 and the womenswear final will be held in New York City in February 2016.
The winning designers will also be required to develop a capsule collection in merino wool to be presented at one of two events that will highlight the menswear and womenswear finalists.

The finalists will all compete for the International Woolmark Prize, which awards AU$100,000 or 460,000RMB and the opportunity to be stocked at some high-end retailers, such as Harvey Nichols in London;1 0 Corso Como in Milan, Beijing and Shanghai; Saks Fifth Avenue in NYC; and Joyce in China and Hong Kong.

Copyright © 2022 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.