Translated by
Nicola Mira
Dec 9, 2021
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

LVMH Prize 2022 open to applications

Translated by
Nicola Mira
Dec 9, 2021

The LVMH Prize 2022 is officially open to applications. After crowning Nensi Dojaka, Rui Zhou of Rui, Colm Dillane of Kidsuper and Lukhanyo Mdingi as winners this year, the emerging designer competition set up by the French luxury giant in 2013 has issued a call for applications for its ninth edition. Candidates have until January 30 2022 to submit their applications.

The jury and winners of the 2021 LVMH Prize - ph Paolo Roversi

The LVMH Prize is open to fashion designers from all over the world, aged between 18 and 40, who have produced at least two women’s, men’s or unisex ready-to-wear collections. Applications can be submitted only on lvmhprize.com.
The competition’s semi-final will take place on Wednesday March 2, during Paris Fashion Week, enabling the jury and press to view the candidates picked after the first selection stage - as well as their creations - within a physical showroom, if the health situation will allow it. It will then be possible for the public to view the semi-finalists and their work online, on the LVMH Prize website, from March 3 to 6.

The competition has been disrupted by the pandemic over the past two years. In 2021, it opened for the first time to the general public, allowing people to vote for their favourite candidates in the final selection phase, their votes being added to those of the jury panel. The same modality will be adopted in 2022, between March 3 and 6.
The LVMH Prize winner will be awarded a €300,000 purse, and the winner of the Karl Lagerfeld special prize will receive €150,000. In both cases, the winners will benefit from a one-year mentorship by the luxury group’s staff. LVMH will also recognise, as usual, three recent fashion academy graduates. Applications are open for them until March 15 2022.
The LVMH Prize was created eight years ago and, with its main award and the special jury award, renamed the Karl Lagerfeld Prize last year, it has recognised the work of 25 designers, some of whom now show at the most prestigious fashion weeks, like Paris or London, and are going from strength to strength. Among them, Marine Serre (winner in 2017), Jacquemus (special prize winner in 2015), Rokh (special prize winner in 2018), Grace Wales Bonner (winner in 2016), Marques'Almeida (winner in 2015), Thebe Magugu and Hed Mayner (main and Karl Lagerfeld Prize winners in 2019) and Vejas (special prize winner in 2016).

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.