L’Oréal & Unesco announce winners of 2018 Women in Science Awards

The UK arm of L’Oréal has announced the five winners of a scientific support programme it runs in partnership with Unesco, the L’Oréal Unesco For Women In Science awards.

Photo: L'Oréal

Five female scientists from London, Oxford, Cambridge and Glasgow have been named as winners of the initiative, which every year awards five fellowships worth £15,000 to researchers to support their career. The flexible scheme offers winners the option to choose to spend their fellowship on buying scientific equipment, paying for childcare costs, travel costs or whatever they need to continue their research.

Yanlan Mao of University College London, Emma Liu of The University of Cambridge, Nicola Farrer of The University of Oxford, Nathiya Muthalagu of the Beatson Institute for Cancer Research and Lucia Prieto-Godino of The Francis Crick Institute were announced at a ceremony at the Royal Society in London last week.

Steve Shiel, director of scientific and corporate affairs for L’Oréal UK & Ireland said “It is always inspiring to see the extraordinary work that is being carried out in diverse scientific disciplines all across the UK. These fellowships are designed to encourage, but also showcase, the amazing contribution female scientists are making, and considering this year’s winners, I think we have achieved that this year.”

Beth Taylor, chair of the UK National Commission for Unesco, added: ”The L’Oréal-Unesco FWIS awards champion female scientists and it is important that we work together to bring the achievements of these women into the lives of those who could be the next generation of scientists.”

The international programme was founded eighteen years ago by L’Oréal UKI and Unesco. Since then, over 200 women from over 100 countries have been recognised for their research and received funding to further their studies.

Copyright © 2018 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.

CosmeticsBeauty - MiscellaneousInnovations