Jun 4, 2021
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

Accessories Council opens applications for 2021 Design Excellence Awards

Jun 4, 2021

The Accessories Council has announced that entries are now open for the third annual Design Excellence Awards, a competition that seeks to recognize outstanding products in the fashion accessories sector.  

The Accessories Council's Design Excellence Award - Photo: The Accessories Council

Categories at the Awards feature footwear over $250, footwear under $250, handbags over $1,000, handbags under $1,000, fashion jewelry, and fine jewelry. Personal accessories are split into two categories, one of which covers soft accessories, scarves, SLGs, gloves, belts, hats and umbrellas, while the other includes travel accessories and luggage.
There are also categories for personal protective equipment (PPE), optical eyewear, and sun eyewear, as well as social impact, sustainability, and tech and innovation.

Entries are open through July 16, 2021. Finalists and the Hall of Fame Winner will be announced on August 2, when the public will be invited to vote for their favorite products.
Winners will be revealed at a virtual awards ceremony hosted on Wednesday, September 8.
Finalists and winners will receive an “AC Seal,” which denotes a product’s excellence and can be displayed at trade shows, in annual reports and on social media, among other events and platforms. This year’s winners will also feature in the Fall edition of AC Magazine.
The Accessories Council is a New York-based non-profit founded in 1994. It launched the Design Excellence Awards in 2019, with last year’s competition having generated over 110,000 votes for entries.
Winners of the 2020 Awards include the Jimmy Choo JC228 glasses in the optical eyewear category, the Vera Bradley Iconic Lay Flat Duffel in the travel and luggage category, and Deepa Gurnani’s Catarina Earrings in the fashion jewelry category.
Sponsors for the 2021 Design Excellence Awards include Blackglama Exclusively by Saga Furs, Joor, and Marchon Eyewear. Once finalists have been announced, voting will take place on the JOOR website.

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.